Download

Total beginner at game making, but good at 3D animation. UDK4 is gonna be awesome!

So, right off the bat, I know I’m not going to be developing the next big blockbuster game all by myself. But, when I heard about this subscription model, I got totally stoked! I had tried playing with UDK3 before, and it’s pretty much what I expected. I also started watching some of the tutorial videos on Epic’s youtube channel for UKD4. The seemingly ease of which you can create simple environments is staggering!

Now, a little background: I’ve been dabbling in 3D animation for many years, mainly using Lightwave 3D, so I know how to model just about anything, texture, and rig, and just recently started teaching myself Maya (cause i know that’s what a lot of big game developers use). So, I’m wondering, I know UDK4 has been developed to give the “artist” more power and control in making their game without much need for coding. However, I can definitely understand that coding will eventually be involved. The thing is, I know absolutely NOTHING about coding. Oh, I tried a basic C++ class years ago, but it was so foreign to me, I just couldn’t grasp it at all.

Question is, about how complex of a game do you think I would be able to piece together with my knowledge of 3D modeling, texturing, rigging, but NO coding knowledge?

Thanks for the opinions and any advice that could be given! I look forward to learning a great deal from this community! Epic Games rocks for having such an amazing subscription model for such a powerful engine!