Thinking about using UE4

Hi,

I have been using Unity free for two months now and squeezed out a game. A pro license is way over priced for me since I’m not aiming for revenue but fun at the moment. But I am running into serious issues currently, especially when working on a small scale with physics.

1. The main drawback of not picking UE4 right now is C++, I have just dabbled with it and I’m currently really comfortable with C# and Java. But even when I do know C++ it is slow to write compared to higher level languages. I see Xamarin from Mono has developed a C# wrapper for UE4 like it has for Unity. How does this integrate and is this free to use with UE4, what are the pro’s and con’s of using this extension?

2. How well is the documentation on scripting? With Unity I can find almost anything within a view clicks, I really like this since I barely ever have to ask a question myself.

3. My issue with Unity are all the unpolished features, I’m not sure the pro version addresses these issues but I don’t want to try it out for $1500. I bet Epic offers a way more polished product.

4. I am particularly interested in small game worlds. How does UE4 physics handle small game worlds like with 1cm objects like a pinball machine? And do shadows/lighting work good on this scale?

5. I mostly create simple games like arcade and board games. I will be targeting android, IOS, facebook in the future. Taking this into account, is UE4 something i should look into?

Thanks in advance,

Dont worry about C++. UE4 has Blueprints! It can do more then you would think. If you dont do any crazy things you probably wont need C++. And if you do: Epic has done a great job to make your life easy :slight_smile:

fixed it:)