The Wretched Beast

Hi. I’m new to all this, so forgive me for being noobish lol.

In short: I am a single person and I’ve had a great story idea for a game for many years now. And while I’m only one person, I believe with the new Unreal 4 I can make this game happen. I’m not a coding person, but I won’t let that stop me.

I and two others, them being writers. Have started Beast Games. And we hope to bring player invested stories to everyone who plays whatever we end up making.
My first and current idea is a horror game (over done? Maybe but whatever lol) in which you play a character who is trying to survive an encounter with whats known in legends as “The Great Animal” (Not sure why I went with that title, maybe read it a book a long time ago…anyway) I’m currently working on the first level, trying to worry less about AI’s and such and just get the level’s atmosphere to feel right, because I believe that level design is so important to the players feeling of ‘being there’ and ‘living it’. In 15 minutes I made a nice hall way, added some piping and tonight i made a fully functioning flashlight in like 5 minutes. With ANY other engine this would have taken MUCH longer for someone like me.

In short, I LOVE UR4, and I’m SOOOO THANKFULLY to the guys who worked on it, and made it available to the public. I can’t wait to share everything I plan to have in this game but for now, baby steps. I’ll be sure to update this thread as I go. I’m loving everything others are making with the UR. So many talented people, it makes me want to work harder to just as good.

Below is just a little teaser.

https://scontent-b-ord.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/t31.0-8/1909222_755606741118380_378715445_o.jpg

From an artist who started over 10 years ago with that same exact mentality, I would have to say that in hindsight it should be the other way around. :slight_smile:

Good Luck DarkBreed. Keep us posted. :slight_smile: