Download

Static / Stationary vs Dynamic / Movable vs Dynamic Sky Plugin for big scenes?

Hey everyone -

This is long-winded but I hope it’s descriptive enough to help others in a similar situation to my own.

I’m an arch-viz professional, originally with 3DS Max / V-Ray, currently with those plus Lumion added into the mix. Myself and another colleague are considering making the jump to UE4. The work that I do often consists of creating scenes for huge developments such as parks and mixed-use. Sometimes they end up being close to 120 acres worth of buildings, foliage, attractions, people… you name it.

At work we have big tanks of desktops with two 10-core CPUs and two Quadro GPUs. At home, in my spare time, I use my own “mid-range work-play” desktop with a stock clocked Intel 6700 and a GTX 1070. For the purposes of this discussion I’ll use my 6700 / 1070 as the base case.

With that in mind, I’m trying to understand what a usable and flexible lighting solution would be for me to start seriously migrating into Unreal.

Pretty much all of my UE4 scenes thus far have been 3DS Max scenes imported into Unreal via Datasmith. Those 3DS Max scenes typically carry everything except for landscape and entourage - people, foliage, etc, with buildings and the like often starting life as Revit models. All of my materials are already set up as V-Ray materials. I’ve instanced geometry where necessary (such as poles for a fence). The scenes also often carry two lights - a V-Ray dome with an HDRI, and a V-Ray sun.