Download

Starer Questions

Hi All

I am relatively new to the both Unreal and Game development, so yes its going to be another one of them newbie posts to begin with. I have been developing web applications and websites for years so I have a bit of experience when it comes to programming simple logic, aesthetics for usability and generally some good practices for separating logic and abstraction etc. however I have a few starter questions that after spending hours on the internet doing research no one really has the definitive way of structuring the content folder. I have come to the conclusion of a few ways of doing it and wanted some feedback from the community.

So in short this is how I started:

• Architecture
    – Buildings
    – Landscapes
  • Audio
    – Ambient
    – Music
    – Sound
  • Blueprints
    – Chat
    – GameModes
    – WorldObjects
  • Entity
    – Avatar
    – NPC
  • Maps
    – Menu
    – {MapNameA}
    – {MapNameB} etc.
  • Materials
    – Layers
  • Meshes
    – Animations
    — Blends
    – Physics
    – SkeletalMesh
    – Skeltons
    – StaticMesh
  • Particles
  • Textures
    – Entity
    – Landscapes
    – UserInterface
  • UserInterface
    – GameMenu
    – HUD
  • Video

Now my question is this is very abstracted for the assets as items would appear in multiple folders across the structure - the question is should the assets be contained with all assoicated elements in the same folder eg:

• AssetName
    – Textures
    – Animations
    – Particles
    – Physics
    – SkeletalMesh
    – Skeltons
    – StaticMesh