Some questions regarding Morph targets, growing plants

Hi!
First of all, Im not sure if this is the correct section, so sorry if its not, and mod… feel free to move this thread if needed.

Well…
Now to the actual “task/problem”…
I would like to create some sort of “groth-like-ish” animation of a plant. So for instance… it starts as a seed, then grows into a stem and then it get leaves and then it blossom.
And I know this wont be an easy one as far as I can tell, so all feedback is more than welcome :).

I have been trying to figure this one out for a few days now, when it finally hit me… maybe its possible to do this using morph targets?
But since Im very new to morph targets… I have a few questions…
First of all… is it possible to add vertices during the morph?.. for instance for the leaves… it would be much easier for a modeller to not need to have the entire “end-meshes” vertices from the very start (when the model is just a seed) to keep in mind, but just simply add a few vertices once its needed… I guess this isnt possible since I really cant figure out how the engine should be able to “map” the new vertices… but well… I still figured I would ask anyway :).

My next question is… is it possible to have multiple morph-targets? I guess it it is since that’s basically what you would do with facial expressions and such when animating them in Maya…

Basically what I would like to do is something like this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkBa-1OzxUA

Thanks for all the feedback in advance!

Yes, that’s possible. Like you said, it is used for facial expressions.