Some advice for a humble beginner would be great

Hey people. I’ve had a few ideas for an RPG style game and I really want to see it made however making it alone seems an impossible task… even if it’s a crappy version of what I want to end up with I just don’t have the skills.
What I do have though is a few years worth of time to learn these skills and pull it together. I’m doing it slowly on a hobbyist type level with the goal of perhaps making one level myself entirely or at least one area as a sort of mockup to
aid in describing and showing say some freelance programmers (or whoever is relevant) what I want and how I want it to work.

My first problem has been well what engine do I choose. UDK (which I’ve never used before today…) immediately stuck out over other engines I’ve been looking at such as Unity and Cryengine in that it seemed most condusive to my goals.
However I’m confronted with a few roadblocks and questions I was hoping someone could answer one or all of.

1. I have a Mac which also runs Windows 7… Should I run UDK4 on Windows or on my Mac… Does it make a difference to the output and are the project files interchangable between the platforms?

2. What other software might I need in conjunction with UDK4 in order to make my game? Can a rough version be done using UDK alone?

3. One very important part of my game would be this very large mountain with a village at the foot of it so detailed terrain would be very important. How equipped is UDK4 in terrain building/sculpting?
    Would I be better off using something else for my landscape and importing into UDK? If so what do you consider to be the best software to achieve this that is compatible?

I would be very grateful for just a nudge in the right direction. I want to make sure I am working with the correct tools before wasting time painstakingly learning the process.

Cheers