Download

Solution for Rotation Bug in Unreal Engine 4.7.6

I’m new to Unreal Engine. I don’t even have background in using any game engine in the market. But ever since I read all of the amazing features in Unreal Engine, I begin to try it and even became obsessive to it :smiley:

So every day, when I had the chance, I studied every tutorial available in Youtube. Then I came across this particular issue with rotation when I tried to rotate a pawn that I possessed. I browsed the AnswerHub and surprised to learn that there was a bug in it and even in the latest version of Unreal Engine. How could such a simple rotation mechanism cannot work perfectly in one of the most popular game engine out there? Disappointing indeed for an amazing game engine!

I was even more shocked that, before I encountered this issue, somehow I accidentally managed to do full rotation on any actor and any pawn without issue in a different project. In fact, I created an animation for it.

So I investigated the blueprints and found the root cause of it. I decided to share this info with all of you developers struggling with the pawn rotation issues.
This revelation may be shocking for many of you… haha… :smiley: The solution in resolving rotation limits is as follow:

1. DO NOT possess a Pawn
  2. Rotate any Actor and any Pawn, that you wish to rotate, in the PlayerController blueprint

It works perfectly to static/spawned Actor/Pawn object. It even work perfectly for values exceeding 360 degrees in any direction (roll, yaw, pitch).

Shocking huh?

I’m not sure if I understand number 1. What do you mean with not to possess a pawn? Is it about implementing input in the pawn’s blueprint itself?

I’ll try when I get home.

I’ve recently discovered that using the Add Local Rotation node instead of Set World/Relative Rotation gets around this pitch rotation bug. You can easily substract your current rotation from your desired one and plug the result into the Add Local Rotation node.