Simply spawning an actor

Hi,

I’m trying to spawn an actor in the world. I’m new to Unreal Engine and I’m unsure what to use as my main class. I assume the GameMode, so I’ve written the following:

AMyGameGameMode::AMyGameGameMode()
    : Super()
{
    // set default pawn class to our Blueprinted character
    static ConstructorHelpers::FClassFinder<APawn> PlayerPawnClassFinder(TEXT("/Game/FirstPersonCPP/Blueprints/FirstPersonCharacter"));
    DefaultPawnClass = PlayerPawnClassFinder.Class;

// use our custom HUD class
    HUDClass = AMyGameHUD::StaticClass();

NSDebug nsdebug;
    nsdebug.init(this);

}

// Fill out your copyright notice in the Description page of Project Settings.

#include "NSDebug.h"

#include "Items/FuelTank.h"
#include "Engine.h"

NSDebug::NSDebug()
{

}

void NSDebug::init(AMyGameGameMode* gamemode)
{
    // something here is causing a crash
    /*FVector Location(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
    FRotator Rotation(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
    FActorSpawnParameters SpawnInfo;
    AFuelTank* tank = gamemode->GetWorld()->SpawnActor<AFuelTank>(Location, Rotation, SpawnInfo);
    debug("Spawned FuelTank");
    debug(tank->get_attributes().stringify().c_str());*/
}

void NSDebug::debug(const char* msg)
{
    GEngine->AddOnScreenDebugMessage(-1, 9999, FColor::Cyan, FString(msg));
}

However, this is causing the entire engine to crash. If you could let me know what the problem is, I’d really appreciate it. I can’t continue my project until this is solved.

It’s crashing because GetWorld is likely returning NULL.

You normally want to do things like spawning actors and such in “BeginPlay”, which is guaranteed to happen after the world is created.

See the flow chart here:

Thanks for your quick response, but on BeginPlay of what should I put my code?