Download

Should I create a character first or create the field / surroundings first?

Hello,

I am new to Unreal Engine and I am learning using the tutorials however, all of the tutorials only have the default 3rd person character(The blue one). Based on my research, creating your own character requires another program (Maya or something). Since I am new, I am not certain what to do first. I tried to create a running game (sort of) and I suddenly realized that it would be better if my character is present already.

I am not a programmer or an animator. I don’t even knot how to create my own character. I am just a person who really like games and would like to create a game for Android device. I’ll be more than happy to learn and do stuffs in Unreal Engine 4 since there are a lot of tutorials.

If anyone can explain and point me to the right direction, I’ll be forever thankful.

If this thread is not posted on the right section, I apologize. Please move it on the right section.

Thank you,
Flitz

Well, creating a character isn’t easy, specially for someone that is just starting. I would recommend you first learn how to use any of the popular 3D modeling programs and create static meshes (like chairs, boxes, tables, etc) so you get the basics of it. And then later you should try making your character. Even the guys from Epic, when they prototyping they use that default 3rd person character that is already in the engine, so you shouldn’t be bothered by the character much.

There is a free 3D modelling program called blender. (www.blender.org). You can start messing with that. (or if you want to buy Maya or any of the others you can go with that).