Download

Several questions: Unwrapping rocks, Billboard LOD creation, Merging "static mesh" actors, etc...

Hi I have a few questions.

(1) How do I properly unwrap a rock inside of blender so there is no UV stretching? I’m still rather new to Blender and the best method I’ve found so far comes from using Mesh->Uv Unwrap->Project from View, but it still leaves a highly stretched texture over a “few” of the triangles in the mesh. I can turn my rocks a certain way to “hide” this effect, but I’d like to know if there’s a better way to do this. I did try using Mesh->Uv Unwrap->Sphere Projection, but that came out even worse looking.

(2) What happens behind the scenes when merging static mesh actors in UE4 to create a new static mesh? For my grass mesh (it’s geometrically based, not alpha mask based), I took my single grass clump (5 grass blades, 20 triangle count), placed 4 of them together in my scene and used Right-Click->Merge Actors to create a grass clump static mesh consisting of 20 grass blades and 80 tris. Is the “end result / render speed in UE4” of this mesh exactly the same as if I were to use Blender to merge 4 small grass clumps into 1 larger grass clump?

(3) This one sort goes along with #2. I was messing around with a small grass clump that I made (this one IS alpha masked and consists of 4 planes / 8 tris). I turned down the foliage paint size of these to a very low size and turned up the density really high so when I paint it onto the landscape with the foliage tool it looks like moss. Now I know this is not a good way of creating a moss effect, but that’s not my point. For something like this is there a render speed effect for drawing 2k of these “instanced” meshes compared to creating the planes in Blender and rendering it as a single mesh? More or less what I’m asking here is if the actual “instance count” causes any performance loss even though they’re instanced into a chunk.