Download

Selectively Occluding an Actor/Widget

Newbie here,

I’ve been trying to get a handle on UE4 by working on a Star Fox/Panzer Dragoon styled rail shooter, where the player pretty much controls a cursor to aim attacks and slightly reposition the player’s pawn.

Anyways, I seem to have hit a snag on getting said cursor to behave as I would like. I’m trying to make it render over everything on the screen EXCEPT the player’s pawn, and I currently haven’t found a way to do so.

I’ve tried working with the cursor as a UMG HUD element, which obviously renders it over the background elements properly, but I haven’t figured out a way to occlude a HUD by a given object. I’ve also tried placing cursor as a mesh object/3d widget that is parented to the camera, which properly occludes the cursor via the Player Pawn, but it also makes the cursor occluded by everything else in the world as well, unless I disable Depth Test, which goes back to the earlier problem of it indiscriminately disabling occlusion.

Anyone know of a way to get this effect somehow, as it’s the one effect I consider an absolute requirement for this style of game?

This tutorial is what you’re looking forhttps://youtube.com/watch?v=GXbE0IqbA7wexcept instead of the player pawn’s location, you are going to want to get your mouse/cursor’s screen location as a world position (or your target, depending on your intended functionality), and use that instead

Let me know if you need any additional behaviour or if you get stuck
And I’m new here so I appreciate any +1s :slight_smile:

Thanks for the link; It’s definitely has got me onto the right track.