Download

Rookie Looking for Advice on UE4 engine before possible purchase!

Hello everyone! I’m a new rookie looking for some insight on the UE4 engine!

The game i’m shooting for will be a metroidvania type game all with original characters, bosses, and story-line. My question is this an engine that should be used for that type of game especially versus the Unity engine? I’m not worried about sound and music as I have a friend who is has majored in music production and composing. I want an engine that doesn’t require a million different types of plugins or forced to buy several unneeded ones. I really want some pros an d cons of both if you can provide some. I need to keep outrageous up front costs down to a minimum! Thanks in advance!

Hi Yodi2007,

Short answer: Yes!

Longer answer: While a 2D platformer can be made with UE4 right now, the process is continually improving through the development of Paper 2D](https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?3539-Project-Paper2D) (Epic’s first-class support for making 2D and hybrid 2D/3D games), which is evolving from development to release candidate over the coming months.

What is possible now:

What will be possible soon:

• An actual platformer game sample that you can pick apart will be released sometime in the near future; if I had to guess, this will happen either shortly before or in conjunction with the release of Paper 2D this summer.
  • You can use Paper 2D while it’s being developed right now (many code changes guaranteed), but the UE4 Roadmap](Trello) on Trello shows that a fully functional Paper 2D is targeted for release sometime in July.

For $19, I’d recommend giving it a spin just to see how you like the workflow. Your input would also be quite welcome in the Paper 2D thread](https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?3539-Project-Paper2D). You can even jump in and provide contributions if you’re so willing.

Good luck with your project, and welcome to the community!

Cheers,
-D