RFC: Motion/body controller mapping to skeletal mesh for VR

I work in an academic lab where we research the psychology/cogSci of VR. In the coming years we expect to do lots of work involving body tracking and novel input formats for VR. Although I’m new to proper UE development, so far I’ve had really positive experiences with UE4’s tools and the C++ coding, full source and Oculus support make it really appealing to use as a base for experiments.

However, for it to work there is a need to integrate motion/body tracking controllers into UE4 and I’m looking for feedback about my planned approach. To state the basic basic problem: we must map the movements of external input devices to drive a skeletal mesh. During the course of our work we will certainly iterate through different input devices (think Kinect, PrioVR, custom sensors, etc) and experiment with the way those movements are represented and interact with the avatar. Hopefully these devices and interactions can share some common implementation details.

The following block diagram is what I’ve planned so far:

The first step will be some C++ hardware API involving the capture of input updates and any low level post-processing in C++ code. It seems this is what engine plug-ins were made to do. One thing I haven’t looked into is the threading model in UE4. Often in our homebrew apps we split the hardware on a dedicated thread that samples as high as possible. We can then do any smoothing/predicting/processing across samples if desired. Post processing may also involve coordinate space conversions depending on axis/rotation definitions of the device vs UE4.