Random Object Spawner ++

Hey guys,

I’m somewhat new to the UE4 scene and I’m trying to get something done.

Basically, I’d like to spawn objects, but have their chances of spawning randomized and also limit their spawns to a fixed number per playthrough.

Example: There are 20 boxes on the floor each having the possibility of spawning an object inside them, but only 3 out of the 20 boxes can spawn those objects and each playthrough is different.

My question is… where should I start? Does anybody know any tutorial(s) that could guide me a bit? Any examples? Thoughts? Dance moves they’d like to share?

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

You can start here:

This will give you 20 boxes that may (25%) have loot, but no more than 3. If the boxes are already in the level, add them to an array and ForEachLoop through *that *array instead, only setting flags rather than spawning new boxes.

Wow that’s great! Thank you so much @Everynone! :slight_smile:

As soon as I posted this question, I thought of something else to accompany it but it might be a bit more work than my first question though… if you feel like you’re up for the challenge, feel free to help me out again! :slight_smile:

I’d like to have it as a “spawning volume” that I can place inside the box making it a parent spawner that way I can easily place the boxes around the level.

My follow-up question is:

• The loot would be something like 3 apples, 3 bananas and 1 key. How would the parent volume know that out of the 20 boxes (same parent) I’ve placed in the level, only 1 out of the remaining 13 boxes would hold the key the rest would hold 3 apples, 3 bananas and the leftover boxes would be empty? All randomized per playthrough…

If I’m wording it wrong let me know… trying to be as precise as possible. :slight_smile:

if it’s a lot of work, you can skip this question… lol

thanks ​again! :slight_smile: