Download

Quick questions about Blend Spaces

I am kinda new with Unreal and trying to wrap my head around blend spaces. I have a 3rd person player character and setting up the Animation Blueprint and Blend Spaces for this character. Following animations I want to use for movements:

1. Idle and a second idle for case the player doesn’t move for a while
  2. Walking
  3. Running
  4. Jumping

So for movement I have 5 different animations. Generally, I get it working, but I am not sure if I should use one or two blend spaces. See questions below.

Questions:

1. Do I need two different Blend Spaces? One for Running and one for walking?
  2. I only have one running and one walking animation (no sideways walking or running). Do I use blendspace or blendspace1d. Also, what is the difference between the two? And which one should I use in my case?
  3. How would I set up the animation for the jumping (is there a different way than using the “isFalling” function?
  4. One last question: I have two idle animations. the first I want to use as my standard idle and the second I want to use when the player doesn’t move the player character for a certain time and then keep alternating between idle 1 and idle 2 until the player runs or walk. How would I set this up…no complete explanation needed, but if someone could hint me in the right directions.

Thank you!!!

Hello,
If you look at how the TPP template is done, you can see it uses a 1D blendspace for idle/walk/run. It blends animations on one axis only (one value, here the speed), which is what you need since you don’t plan to add sidewalk. In the case of sidewalk you would blend with two value, speed and direction that is the 2D blendspace advantage.