Question about creating various pieces of content

So I’d like to play around with things on an individual bases. I’m a beginner and don’t want my main level to be cluttered with a bunch of things I’m working on.

So I’d like to have my development and learning pipe line to be a bit more, Instanced or say puzzle based where I make the various pieces and put them together.

I want to have an Island or an entire level that showcases features for a game I’d like to implement much like a proof of concept. but I don’t want to work on any of those assets in that island. I’d like to work on textures and such in a separate project and import it in to the island level. But I’m not sure how the engine works in that aspect.

For example,
I want to work on a detailed water material complete with interactions to objects and stuff in a separate project and then import it to the Island as a completed asset. Or work on a character and it’s animations in a separate project and import the completed character in to the island as a complete asset.

So my question is. do I make a new project to work on the particular asset? and do I save it as a package or something? Should there be a bit of development within the island level to make sure there is compatibility with the assets and the level? Or should I learn how to add adjustable variables to the assets in order to mesh well with the level? If I needed to change things to the asset should I save that project file or can I just import the asset in to a new project and make changes?

This is relevant to how I feel at this point.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1am_9ZKIK0

So you’re wondering if you create the level in a different program and then import it to Unreal Engine?

I would suggest using a single project, but multiple levels.
Create a folder called “development” inside your main folder, and create a new folder for each “thing” inside that folder.