Projects failing to open

By profession I am an IT manager and I have extensive experience is networking, operating systems, those things related to local and various size networks, and troubleshooting network and desktop weird sh*t.

I run a solid machine I7-10700 CPU, 64GB Memory, a 1tb M.2 drive and 3 4tb drives for storing data. My motherboard is ASUS ROG Maximus XII hero. My video card is a Geforce GTX 1060.
UE 4.25.4 refuses to open my project files. This started about two weeks ago

This is driving me nuts. Projects fail at 93% when attempting to open them.

"Unhandled Exception: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION reading address 0xffffffff

UE4Editor_Engine
UE4Editor_Engine
UE4Editor_Engine
UE4Editor_Engine
UE4Editor_CoreUObject
UE4Editor_CoreUObject
UE4Editor_CoreUObject
UE4Editor_CoreUObject
UE4Editor_CoreUObject
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor_UnrealEd
UE4Editor
UE4Editor
UE4Editor
UE4Editor
kernel32
ntdll"

When the problem recurred I setup a Win10 virtual workstation on my system. I installed all service packs, the UE launcher, the UE engine 4.25.4 and the Perforce client. In the virtual environment I was able, albeit very and painfully slowly, open our project file entirely without error. The slowness was due to the project not having a proper dedicated GPU to work with (working in this now). Even confirming that it opened and loaded in the VM (virtual machine), the project consistently failed on my normal non-VM workstation.