Please help - having a hard ...

Hey I am new to the engine and trying to learn.
I am working on a little project that I can’t get out of my head.

I’ve been trying to figure out how I can get a character class that is a cube to move by pivoting on its edge in 90 degree increments.
I was able to put a blueprint together with action mappings that causes my cube to rotate up down left and right but there is no movement associated with it.

I don’t want to achieve movement through single key presses I want to use axis mappings so that I can keep flipping/rotating to move while holding down a key.
I want to constrain the movement to the axis that I am moving along as well so I can’t move diagonally in the plane of movement.

I’ve tried searching for a solution but I can’t find anything that addresses this.

I’d greatly appreciate any and all help with this.

Under the editor button Project Settings -> Input, there are mouse axis settings, this? Thus, that should help to associate movement to your actions.

If you want to achieve continuous movement, add axis mappings to your “Mouse X” and “Mouse Y” and, from their event nodes, just add the axis value to the appropriate rotation axis (yaw for Mouse X, Pitch or Roll for Mouse Y). You’ll want to use a cube whose origin is located at the exact center of the mesh in order to not experience weird rotations.

Thanks for taking the to reply :slight_smile:

I didn’t clearly explain what I am trying to do. Here is a youtube video of the kind of movement I am looking for except I want to use a cube instead of a cuboid: