Please help design my workflow for 3D

Hello,

Would anyone be so kind as to give me some advice regarding choosing the right tools please?
I’m just a hobbyist digital artist, so far I’ve been entirely focused on 2D, using mostly Photoshop and Illustrator.
I’d like to start developing some 3D skills to use it mostly for illustrations (but maybe also play around with VR too).

I’m planning to use UE4 for real-time rendering (as regular CPU/GPU rendering is very slow and not fun at all), but I’m having real trouble with picking the right tools to make the workflow trouble-free and efficient.
Also, it would be really great to limit software cost to 100 USD per month.

• I’m mostly interested in concept design and environments, but sometimes also doing vehicles and characters.
  • I’m not planning any animation or rigging
  • Not really interested in pure-sculpting tools like Zbrush
  • the goal is to have fun, whatever software is popular is completely irrelevant in my case

Which tools would be the best in my situation?
I can’t decide between MODO and Blender, now thinking about trying Maya too.
Should I also consider tools like Nvil, Mari or Substance Designer?

Could you please recommend any efficient workflow/tools to use with UE4?
Any help would be much appreciated! : ) Thanks!

lot of questions there. I’d say watch some intro tutorials to all the software you just listed. I think you’ll find one stands out to you as something you’d like more for one reason or another. If you can’t decide watch a few more tutorials on the software you’re choosing between. Then I’d say go find forums for that software. If the forums are active you will find a home for using it. If not… move on.

Everything you listed is cool, but you can’t learn it all at the same time so start with the main 3D modeling package.

Heya TonkaDrone,