Download

Noob Question about Laying out UV's for light mapping

Hi All,

I am new to Unreal Engine and I am trying to design a house. All of my walls are simple blocks of static mesh (each of them is different length). My question is about UV’s and light mapping.

Let’s say we have a cube. We know some faces of cube will never be visible to player (e.g. Bottom face will never be visible if cube is on floor). So I give very little UV space to bottom face. In case of a wall, only two faces (front and back) will be visible. Other faces will hide behind other walls, roof and floor. This leaves me with a lot of UV space for front and back faces. To fill up UV space as much as possible, I have to stretch UV’s unevenly. See attached image.

Two larger UV polygons are the front and back faces. I have stretched UV’s horizontally to fill up space.
Smaller UV’s on right side are for hidden faces.

I have some questions:

for larger faces, is this a good idea? or UV’s should not be stretched? (only talking about light mapping purpose, not texturing)

For smaller faces, is this good?

Also, overall is this a good layout?

Thanks

In that situation it is OK. The problem that can happen is when you have a seam and the pixels on either side are different sizes, then you can notice it. In your case, the edges are in a corner and you wouldn’t notice a change.
As far as the surfaces that aren’t visible, you can actually delete it, if it’s not going to be seen and it’s not going to effect lighting then you can delete it.

Also, you’d want to try and combine things when possible, so that room you could have all of the interior walls as one mesh, and then you would only need seams in like 2 corners. When you reduce the seams you end up using the space more effectively. The only issue is when you might have a really long wall and it doesn’t fit well, in those cases you might split it so you can add another seam.