Non-VR project fails to launch when SteamVR plugin is disabled

TLDR below
I am new to Unreal Engine and I am trying to build my 1st project with Unreal. I have 4+ years experience as a Python engineer.

I have made the bare skeleton of my project. When I open the project or launch it from the editor, it also launches SteamVR. Since my project is not VR, this is not wanted. Searching online, the recommendation is to disable the SteamVR plugin. I did this and SteamVR no longer launches when I open my project. I can use the editors “play” feature and everything works the same as before. When I try to launch my project, it errors with:

LogPlayLevel: Setting up ProjectParams for C:\Users\Jordan\Documents\Unreal Projects\PuckStar\PuckStar.uproject
LogPlayLevel: PuckStar.uproject requires a temporary target.cs to be generated (OculusVR plugin is disabled)
LogPlayLevel: ** STAGE COMMAND STARTED **
LogPlayLevel: Error: ERROR: Stage Failed. Missing receipt 'C:\Users\Jordan\Documents\Unreal Projects\PuckStar\Binaries\Win64\PuckStar.target'. Check that this target has been built.
LogPlayLevel:        (see C:\Users\Jordan\AppData\Roaming\Unreal Engine\AutomationTool\Logs\E+Epic+Games+Games+UE_4.26\Log.txt for full exception trace)
LogPlayLevel: AutomationTool exiting with ExitCode=103 (Error_MissingExecutable)
LogPlayLevel: Completed Launch On Stage: Build Task, Time: 1.255516
LogPlayLevel: Completed Launch On Stage: Deploy Task, Time: 0.000028
LogPlayLevel: BUILD FAILED
PackagingResults: Error: Launch failed! Missing UE4Game binary.
You may have to build the UE4 project with your IDE. Alternatively, build using UnrealBuildTool with the commandline:
UE4Game <Platform> <Configuration>

Searching online did not help. If I re-enable the SteamVR plugin, it can be launched again.