Download

New to UE4, need help making the switch form UDK

I’m struggling with a few things. In UDK, I could specify the pawn and controller to use for that level. How do I get UE4 to recognize and use my own character class?
I’m also getting lost in the source code. With UDK, I used UncodeX to view classes and their functions, but I can’t find documentation to know what functions I have access to in the Pawn/Character class.
Another thing: in UDK, I often used `log or broadcast to display messages to myself at runtime. What’s the best way to do this in UE4?

Hi, I’m new to UE4 too but I’m an esperienced udk coder, same problem here, I’m lost in “C++ epic deprecated code sea”, every tutorial i’m following won’t compile correctly due to new 4.7.6 code changes.
please help! I don’t like to use BP!
I was reading the “William Sherif learning C++ creating games with UE4” ebook (4.5 ) , but the code is deprecated too… is Epic team running too fast? What do we have to expect with new changes in 4.8 version?
sorry for my english and sorry if it’s just me , but I would never have switched from udk if not forced to!

To specify the standard classes to use for a level, you can make a class derived from AGameMode and set, amongst other default classes, the DefaultPawnClass and PlayerControllerClass in the constructor of the gamemode:

DefaultPawnClass = YourPawnDerivedClass::StaticClass();
PlayerControllerClass = YourPlayerControllerDerivedClass::StaticClass();

As for the log the simplest thing would be

UE_LOG(LogTemp, Warning, TEXT("Hello World"));                   //gets printed to the output log

if(GEngine)
  GEngine->AddOnScreenDebugMessage(-1, 10.f, FColor::Cyan, TEXT("Hello World"));       //gets printed directly on the screen

Here is a great wiki page written by Rama, about printing logs at runtime: A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements and Releases - Unreal Engine Forums