Download

Need help tracking down a possible memory leak in my editor/game

So i started noticing that as i worked in UE4.23 for longer periods of time without closing the editor, my fps would slowly drop over time. This only appears to be an issue in the editor, and not in actual built versions of my game as far as i can tell however, so i’m not entirely sure what the issue is.

I did a little digging before writing this and found that i can turn on memory usage and object counter, so i did this. When first opening my project i have around 1gb memory usage, which seems fairly reasonable, and 103k objects. After opening certain blueprints however this number rises, sometimes upwards of 200k objects and basically never comes back down, even once i close the blueprint that caused the spike in objects. This is all without actually running the game at all.

First off i guess i should ask, is this normal? i’m a complete noob when it comes to debugging etc, so i have no idea what is normal and what isn’t.

After a little more digging i stumbled across people mentioning the session front end, and 5 mins later i realized i have literally 0 clue on how to interoperate anything shown in that window, which sucks because its probably (hopefully) going to be the answer to my solution.

After this, i thought maybe it was an issue with the engine, so i decided to “quickly” download UE4.25 and see if anything changed. The initial object has pretty much halved to around 50k, but i still had the issue of opening blueprints and having the object count not drop back down after closing them (if thats an issue at all), but on top of that, i suddenly had a lot of errors that i previously did not have.

More specifically, i had a lot of error stating “accessed none trying to read property”, all of which still seemed to work fine, and didn’t crash the game, but when closing the game they popped up in the message log as red errors.