Multi User Viewer Template: VR hands and navigation don't work

Hi,

I’m new with Unreal Studio. We are Architecture firm testing Unreal Engine and have been working with the Multi User Viewer template. For the most part it goes well, but we couldn’t figure it out the VR mode. When we plug in a VR headset (Vive or Mixed-Headset), we can see the world but the hands and the controller do not show up. So VR users can’t move/navigate around at all. At the same time the mouse and laser pointer still work so we thought it got stuck in desktop mode.

In the Unreal documentation about the particular template, there is this snippet about checking “VR Mode” in the gamemode blueprint but this doesn’t exist with our copy of Unreal Engine. There is a VRmode checkbox in “BP_MultiUser PlayerController” blueprint, but checking that does not change anything.

Is there any help that we can get on how to enable VR mode properly on this template?

Thanks

In the beginning menu after entering your name, do you switch it from “Desktop” to “VR” for the input device? Does your scene have a Navigation Mesh in place?

Hi

Thanks for your response. So to rule out my additions causing problems, I just did a fresh new Multi User Template project. I was hoping to be able to use VR in the editor’s VR Preview, is it possible? I did create a Windows x64 package and run it with our Vive machine. It did give us the option to choose VR, but when I click next the program crashed with this error:
Assertion failed: !SteamVRHMD->VRCompositor [File:D:\Build++UE4\Sync\Engine\Plugins\Runtime\Steam\SteamVR\Source\SteamVR\Private\SteamVRSplash.cpp] [Line: 54]

Thanks