Mirror Like Reflection?

I wanna make the material reflect the environment like marble, and give it a very clean and clear reflection like how it was made in Alien isolation here:0f03bae4b57185cb1344e30f357f3fc762c0fb92.jpeg

i suppose it can be done with materials with a roughness value of zero. Lights and mesh needs to be static. After baking it should look like a mirror. At least that’s the result i’ve produced. :slight_smile:

Okay, it kinda worked but I am encountering another issue now, the reflection seems to get a very bad quality when looking directly at it and looks good when only slightly visible, the screenshots will show u what I mean.

Good Quality:

Bad Quality:

screen space reflections only work for what is visible on the screen… bottom screenshot looks like its using both the sccreen space and the refelection capture probe to fill in what the screen space cant see.

sry, I’m pretty new to unreal, can you explain how to fix this?

You dont. Your only option is disable screen space reflection and let the baked reflections from the probes be the only ones… though they are not very accurate.

This cannot be fixed. And its not only Unreal, it’s a common problem. Why do you think so many games don’t have mirrors in their levels?
However there are workarounds. You need to make use of the screencapture3d asset. Align it with the floor, so that it faces the ceiling. Then assign the material you render to, to the floor. This will create a mirror like effect. Now you just have to offset the camera to make sure that you always get correct reflections. Very performance intensive.

They’re going to be adding an option for this at some point, UDK had 2D reflection capture actors to do mirrors and reflective floors and they have an alternative they were using in one of their GDC demos.