Memory management of pointer created in the constructor.

Hi!

I’m new to Unreal Engine and I’m watching C++ Tanks vs Zombies Live Training.
At one point a Spring Arm component is created inside the constructor.
I would like to understand how the memory of this pointer is handled and whether memory leakage can occur in this way, since the variable is not defined as UPROPERTY ().

ATank::ATank()
  {
      USpringArmComponent* SpringArm = CreateDefaultSubobject<USpringArmComponent>(TEXT("SpringArm"));
      SpringArm->AttachTo(RootComponent);
  }

Thank you!

There should be at least one other counted pointer in the Actor, since it needs to reference all its components. So as soon as you destroy the actor, the SpringArm should be destroyed, too. Your pointer is not of any importance because it leaves scope when you leave the constructor.

Variables declared inside function scope are destroyed once that function returns…
For example if you reference *SpringArm *from outside ATank() constructor you’re going to reach unpredictable behavior, maybe causing crashes, but not really leaking.

Thank you @birdfreeyahoo and [USER=“434”]BrUnO XaVIeR[/USER]!!

Exactly as you said @birdfreeyahoo, there are others counted pointers:

ATank::ATank()
{
   // Set this pawn to call Tick() every frame. You can turn this off to improve performance if you don't need it.
    PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;

if (!RootComponent)
    {
        RootComponent = CreateDefaultSubobject<USceneComponent>(TEXT("TankBase"));
    }

SpawnCollisionHandlingMethod = ESpawnActorCollisionHandlingMethod::AlwaysSpawn;

TankDirection = CreateDefaultSubobject<UArrowComponent>(TEXT("TankDirection"));
    TankDirection->AttachTo(RootComponent);

TankSprite = CreateDefaultSubobject<UPaperSpriteComponent>(TEXT("TankSprite"));
    TankSprite->AttachTo(TankDirection);

ChildTurret = CreateDefaultSubobject<UChildActorComponent>(TEXT("Turret"));
    ChildTurret->AttachTo(TankDirection);