Looking for workarounds in animation blueprints

I’m mainly a Unity developer but chose UE4 for my current project for a few reasons. And I’m having problems with animation blueprints, I can’t find some features which are present in Unity but seem to be missing in Unreal:

1. Transition to an animation from any state. In Unity there’s a special entry point called “Any state” from which I can add just a single transition. In Unreal it seems to me that I’ll need to add transitions from every state, so I really hope there’s a better way
  2. Triggers. They’re ideal for things like attack animations, but I can’t find anything similar in animation blueprint. As a temporary solution I just set a bool variable to true and after 0,1 seconds I set it back to false. But it seems too hacky and unreliable to me as I don’t trust the delay node
  1. would be a Montage.
    Look into it.

2. never trust a delay node. (Different fps different delay too at times).
    What are you trying to trigger?

A jump? It’s done with animation state machines.

A one off montage? It’s done via code in the character blueprint.

All in all, the animation blueprint should only have variables and state machines. Absolutely no logic or any overly complicated stuff to get a state to trigger.

Example of a proper jump.
3 animations.
Jump start - the player pressed jump. The capsule goes up. The animation plays.

Jump loop. Static Frame of mid Jump. Plays endlessly.

Jump land. The character BP detects proximity to the ground, and at a specific distance sends the variable change to the animation BP so that it transitions to this state off the loop state.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

I’ll look into it. Does it blend with anim BP?

I’m trying to trigger attack animation, which can transition to combo follow-up attack. My initial logic was:

1. Player hits attack button and activates attack trigger and animation transitions to attacking state