Download

Level/World streaming Saving! Is there a way to do it?

I’m a total noob when it comes to UE4 and Unity. But I can’t find the strength in me to make anything before I know if my goals are feasible. I mean I have spend the last 5 days trying to find a way to do this. And 18h of Internet searching I’m destroyed. :< Like I find myself better off trying to make short movies then games right now due to this issue I have with UE4.

Disclaimer: I’m not trying to do a Skyrim or huge RPG of any kind. My goals are strictly about making sure I don’t end up where I can’t do what I like with my “game” about cars.

Unreal 4 so far is easy to understand and from outside it looks like a 10/10 tool to make some epic hobby games. But what the hell is up with level streaming? It looks like it’s 100% not ment to be anything but a FPS shooter. It’s a huge waste due to how nice of a engine it is!

The level streaming / world composition docs you have to go on is only stroking the surface of how to make a game with it. It’s easy to set up a streaming world and add stuff in the levels. A bit of google magic and you may even import a world from world machine! Edit it and add some accets you got one big world to do stuff in! You end up with a map of sizes way bigger then world origin can handle. How grate? But the catch I can’t find a way to get around for the kind of games I’m intrested in. This is ruining the hole engine for me. World Streaming and persistent level… URrrg What is the point of a big open world if you maby can save the state of a door or light at best? (something that’s stuck to the level and can’t be moved to a neighbour level without being unloaded.)

Dose it sound unclear what I’m talking about? Yea it dose. Watch this video first and I explain what I’m stuck at.
https://youtube.com/watch?v=ix1PDCr86lI