Instance of a class that inherits from class that inherits from AActor?

Hi,

I am new to unreal. I would like to know how to have an instance of my class in my level. I have a class that inherits from a class that inherits from Actor.

class B : public AActor

class A : public B

How can i get an instance of class A in my level?

I know how to get an instance of class B in my level. I just drag and drop from the content browser to my level in the unreal editor then attach a shape so I can see it.

How do I do this for class A?

Blueprints will appear in the content folder.
C++ actors do not.
To get an instance of class A in your level, you could add it via the level editor or create a Blueprint that uses class A as its base class, then drag that from the content folder.

Any changes you do to a Blueprint that uses class B as its parent will not affect the C++ of class A.
i.e. You create a Blueprint called BP_B and add a static mesh of a cube.
Any Blueprint or instance of class A will not have that static mesh.

If you want class B to affect class A, you will need to make those changes in C++ as normal.

There are some decent examples and tutorials floating around, both on this site and YouTube.
Hopefully they will give you some more insight then I have :slight_smile:

I was kinda hoping to do everything using Visual Studio and C++.

Its odd that you can only inherit your class from AActor directly and not inherit from a class that inherits from AActor!

Blueprint changes won’t.
C++ changes will.

Think of the Blueprinted version of B as another child - C.
Since you’re going B => C, it can’t affect A, which is B => A.
You would have to make A a child Blueprint of C for it to work.

Sure you can inherit from a class that inherits from AActor. Why shouldn’t that be possible?
It’s also possible to do everything in C++, since Blueprints are only ChildClasses of the C++ Classes.