Inconsistent Multiplayer Box/LineTrace results

Hey guys, I’m currently creating a multiplayer melee combat system and am having an issue with consistency of the line trace on a dedicated server.

**Issue: **Sometimes when I attack the box trace registers the hit fine and functions accordingly, often it doesn’t hit.

I am multicasting the boxtrace from a server call. I have a feeling that the box trace start and end location variables may be out of sync when functioning between the server and client but as I am new to this I am not sure! Everything when it does hit but it is inconsistent.
“Edit im fairly sure that it’s the line trace server-client call with it’s start and end location as when run on the server only then it’s performs perfectly”

Thank you for any advice!

I am multicasting the boxtrace from a server call … what??? why don’t you handle that from server, do you know how expensive that is ? :eek:

Though I have no XP with box traces I am not sure why… I never got them to work… neither I know how the work in core.

Thank you for the reply, so this should be handles through the server? Regardless when I use a box or line trace for checks that it still has an inconsistent hit rate from client to server (on server it works fine) Do you have any idea what this could be? It also might be due to using the timer by event? I’m abit lost right now with these, been trying to work it out for 3 days haha

I’m also confused as when I run it from a Listen server (non dedicated) The client to server function works 100%

Hi, first of doing several RPCs 100 times per sec and sending whole structs at this rate is really not good, that’s a fast way to break your network bandwidth =)
Also a box trace 100 times per sec is also not good for performance (might be better to use a couple of line traces instead).