I'm frustrated with ue4, and really need some advice and comfort. :(

I’m not native english speaker, please forgive my poor grammer and spellings

Hi everyone.

I’ve joined the ue4 community since 2014 and at the time I’m already working on a project using UDK.

I have been using UDK for 3 years, when I heard ue4 is comming out and saw all the stunning visuals and

new fantastic editor tools I was so excited. I thought I could easily port my project to UE4 and get started

with this new engine.

Before rambling about the many frustrations I get while porting my project to ue4, I think I should explain

my workflow with UDK.

I am a programmer, and I am working on a project alone, I bought all of my art content online from

turbosquid with royalty free and exteneded license. I have limited skills in 3ds , I can do basic things

like add additional bone to a biped character, change/add material, simple animation, simple rigging…etc.

The product I bought always need some tweaking although it’s sometimes time consuming but not entirely

impossible to do it. After tweaking the model, I import it to UDK. The tricky thing is, sometimes no matter

how I tweak the model, it just won’t import to UDK, and sometimes UDK will just crash when I try to import.

But if I successfully import the content into UDK, it is easy to manipulate the content to the way I want it to be.

With UE4, I feel like it has a stricter demand for the content imported, and it will cause a lot of trouble

if I don’t import a correct setting of the content. For example:

I have a character skeletalmesh with a root bone, but the animation I bought somewhere else don’t have a root bone.

So when I import the .fbx, the character skeleton created don’t have a root bone. I didn’t notice this difference

until I try to attach another skeletalmesh(a sunglass skeletalmesh) onto the head socket of my character.