I am an artist

and I’ve already tried modelling with blender… i’ve currently made only one character and have some question after i saw the unreal engine 4 features…

I’m a noob at this part so…

Question 1
I’ve seen how you can make one character and then mark some parts with colours so you’ll know what material will be on which part. Can you do this normally? Or you need to completely split the character into more parts so you can have each material for each part?

Question 2
I saw that many models are made of a lot of faces that all are same sized squares. Are they for easier texturing?

Question 3
Is blender okay to work with? Or does unreal engine give you other tools to help yourself with modelling?

Question 4
Can you do realistic animations with tools that unreal engine offers you?

If my question isn’t clear enough then tell me.
Thanks for your time!

1. I would switch to 3d or maya, because there you get some features like the animation tool. But blender is ok to use, it just can get a little bit tricky when you have to export - import stuff into the UE4

hi,
how can i import upk files in my content browser with unreal 4?
I remember that in the older version was a option called fully load, but i couldnt found the option in unreal 4.

Yuu **cant **use your upk files in the UE4 -> it uses another file type (uproject)

ok thanks for your help

But you can easily just export your stuff from UDK as .fbx/.obj/.png and import it into the UE4 and of course you will have to recreate all your materials and particle systems

by recreate do you mean to just import the character textures and place them on or mean basically from scratch again?

Q.1 - I think i remember them saying they created alpha maps that they could use to separate the different material types, this way the model doesn’t need to be broken up. Not 100% sure though

Q.2 - It probably does make texturing easier. I know that it definitely helps with animations as it reduces bad stretching.