How would I go about extending UAISense_Sight?

Hey, I’m pretty new to Unreal and I’m trying to figure out how I might extend the UAISense_Sight class. Creating a derived class that overrides some functions is simple enough, and then I can change the sense implementation to my derived class, and that all works fine.

The bit I’m having trouble with is what if I also need to extend UAISenseConfig_Sight to add some new parameters that are necessary for this extended implementation? I can create a derived class of the sight config, but in the actual sense class that config is turned into an FDigestedSightProperties struct, which takes a UAISenseConfig_Sight specifically. So I could derive from FDigestedSightProperties and add these new parameters to that as well, and a constructor that takes my new config class.

This is where I seem to get stuck. UAISense_Sight stores those digested properties in a TMap<FPerceptionListenerID, FDigestedSightProperties> called DigestedProperties, which is used in various places to look up the properties for each listener. That I can’t override without making an alternate map in my derived class, and overriding all functions that use it so that it points to my new map, which would be silly, at that point I might as well just duplicate the entire class. If the map stored pointers of FDigestedSightProperties this would probably all ‘just work’, I could cast to the derived properties struct that contains the info the derived sense requires and it’d be fine, but they’re not pointers.

It kinda feels like I’m missing something. Maybe the intention is that you only create entirely new senses rather than trying to add to the existing ones? I could basically just copy UAISense_Sight and the config and make additions to those rather than deriving from it, but obviously that’s not ideal. Plus the ‘Implementation’ in the config being a TSubclassOf seems to imply that extending these classes is the intended way to go about this…