Download

How to implement simple controlled movement along X- and Y-axis?

Hello, my first post here!

I’d like to start off by saying I have little to no logic experience with Unreal Engine. I’m an artist with intermediate programming skills.

I’ve spent a few days making really pretty materials and building a scene - no problems. Then I hit a brickwall trying to add controls to an object. I tried to read up on some documentation, but it ended up confusing me even more. Could you please explain step by step how should I go about making simple controlled physics-less wasd-movement on x- and y-axis’ from scratch? Think Hotline Miami-like controls. I have a vague understanding of what Game Mode does, but it’s not really getting me anywhere.

Thank you :- )

I’m gonna try to bump this. Please forgive me, but I’m in need of help :- (

Am I really asking for too much?

I am working on a very simple endless runner in which the player is a cube and an endless tunnel is generated. The player (cube) can not move forward (X direction, though this depends on your setup) only up and down, left and right. The tunnel moves in the X direction which makes it appear that the player is moving forward endlessly. Those details should help you to understand the logic below, and the code should be simple enough that it can be translated to blueprints, which I’m assuming is what you are using.

If you want to clamp movement at a certain position like I did, you should avoid using hard coded numbers like my code below. I plan on changing them :). Same with the speed (400). These should be stored in variables so they are easier to change.