How to add custom cloth mesh to existing character mannequin in 3rd person game template?

Greetings, I am relatively new to ue4, blender and 3d modeling in general so please excuse any major shortcomings or gaps in 3d computer modeling/animation knowledge.

I am trying to learn what it would take to use the existing 3rd person character (and all it’s included assets: skeleton, animations, etc) but modify the base mesh to have a cloth component. In this case I want to add a basic sheet on top of the character’s head.

I’m trying to make some ghosts from pac-man and a friend suggested using a regular character with some cloth sheet over them, I think that it’d make for a cool design and I’d be really happy if I could achieve this.

So I want to try to make a basic modification of the included 3rd person character in the thirdperson level template. The character has all those included goodies (animation, skeleton, etc) and I just want to add a cloth sheet on top.

I want to take a very basic plane mesh and try to use it as a cloth sheet with the existing cloth system in ue4. After following some tutorials, and reading up on the documentation for the cloth system, I crudely (and I’m fairly certain incorrectly as well) made this work by exporting the 3rd person skeletal mesh as a fbx, modifying that in blender by adding a basic subdivided plane with a separate simple sheet material on top, and importing that back into ue4. The new mesh has the plane & character. It kind of worked but I do not think I did it correctly.

I think a good looking cloth behavior would be if I could make the upper half of the sheet a bit more rigid/static and have hard points attached to the head and shoulders and have the bottom half be all billowy. If I can achieve that I’d be pretty happy, I’ll start with just trying to attach a sheet to the head for now though.