Download

How to add and change armor to your model

I have a dream… to create Dungeon Siege 3 (oh you say Dungeon Siege 3 already exists? You are wrong)

I have been wanting to do this for such a long time, now that Unreal Engine 4 is available and I have some spare time I want to dedicate myself to create a true squeal to Dungeon Siege 2. I am a programmer, so I am fine with doing what needs doing in the engine department, however 3d modeling is not my strong suite. I have played around with it before but I am terrible.

I got a friend that is going to help me with that, but I need to be able to tell him how he has to create the stuff so it will all fit together.

My question is, how do you solve the problem of having different pieces of armor affect the character model’s appearance? As far as my limited knowledge goes it used to be done with changing the textures to give the impression different armors have been equipt, but that is not going to cut it anymore. I want to find out if there is a better way of handling this. The latest example I saw was the way Skyrim modders did it with different bodies, they basically cut the body in to different pieces and replaced the entire body if you equipt another piece of armor.

If anyone can maybe point me to a good tutorial or guide or even theory of handling different armors, I would greatly appreciate it! The only thing I could find so far with the power of google was this post: https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?17051-What-is-workflow-for-characters-with-customizable-armor

Thank you for reading my post

Yes; you can attach multiple skinned meshes to the same skeleton. As you animate the skeleton, the different skinned mesh parts move with that skeleton.