Download

Help with Level Design & Landscape Tool.

Hi,

I am developing a survival open world game in Unreal Engine right now and I need help with creating the actual world. I’ve been trying to mess around with the landscape tool but, nothing looks good. I’m looking for a more wooded world with pathways for the player to walk. Some hills and mountains as well. I’m looking for bright colors as well. Basically, I am looking for colors like No Man’s Sky. I am a complete beginner so, any help is greatly appreciated :D. Also, a question I have is, I have been trying to add grass to my world but, it’s super laggy. I have the recommended specs for Unreal Engine so, that’s probably why. I just wanted to check if that’s normal and if that would affect the performance of my game. Have a nice day.

The best way of creating the landscape is first using a dedicated software for generating them such as World Machine. There are lots of tutorials on how to use it if you google them. With WM or similar softwares you can export a height map that you can import into unreal to automatically get a landscape of the same shape. The landscape sculpting tools in unreal are pretty simple and more suitable for fine tuning and adjusting a landscape you previously made in WM.

You can also export masks that you can use to mask out the various types of ground you want on your landscape. You’ll have to set up a landscape material (this is documented well in the unreal documentation) with layers for each ground type you want then import the masks into each layer of the landscape painting tool once you apply your material to the landscape.

To fill your world with content such as trees you can use either the Foliage Paint mode which is good for smaller maps or the Procedural Foliage system that lets you generate areas within volumes you place (much better for large worlds).

As for colors it’s all up to the artist :slight_smile: Make colorful textures to use in your landscape material.