Help with blueprint communication

Hi, I’m having some problems with blueprint communication.
What I’m trying to do is basically making a fuel blueprint for the player (how much fuel does the player have) and a cone which is supposed to be a jerrycan that suppose to add fuel to the player.
BTW I’m kinda new to blueprints (i guess you already know that)

here’s what i tried to do:

The Variables in black are the variables from the player_fuel blueprint.

In the player blueprint for verifying it works good, i did that every second it will do a pring string with the value of the fuel, but it doesn’t change (when i pick it up it suppose to add 25 to the fuel value)

and for some reason I’m getting an error “Accessed None ‘Player_Fuel’ from node Construction Script in blueprint Jerrycan

I couldn’t see a problem with the nodes, but maybe some expert can help you.

In order for blueprint to work, there need to be an instance. This is the only thing I can think of why its not working.

Class Blueprint is equivalent to C++ class (hence the ‘class’ name). Like a C++ class, in order for an object of a class to work, you need to create an object or instance of the class. You can do it in BP (but its not the only way) by dragging the BP Player_Fuel into the level. You may want a billboard or something as a component so you can select it in the level. Where you put in a level is not critical.

Have you an instance of Player_Fuel BP in the level? Yes, even if its not a mesh, you need to drop a BP (say if the parent is an actor) in a level for a blueprint to work. Exception are HUD, PlayerController & a few others as they are created on game creation.

If you have, just pull the instance into the blueprint (by dragging its name from the outliner) as a reference variable, then you can change its variables. The reference variable normally will have ‘from persistent Level’ (or a defined level) on the second line of the node.