Dear god help me..."Have a fish" vs "Learn to fish"

Hi everyone, I’ve been working with Unreal for the past several months…and I just want to see if anyone else has this issue…

Does anyone else find learning the Blueprint experience to be incredibly UN-intuitive. Like it’s terribly frustrating? And this is coming from someone who has experience programming in C and C++, has worked with Game Maker Studio and Blender, and has experience as a visual artist.

I think it has to do with the fact that nothing is very well explained. It’s almost like everything related to teaching Unreal is “Here is your fish.” And not, “Here is how to fish.”

I’ve gone through several of the Epic Learning videos and even worked through a couple of paid tutorial series for Unreal Engine Blueprints and it still seems like NO ONE is explaining anything from a top-down general idea. Like no one explains…“Hey before we even start doing anything, let’s just talk about the different functions that are available and what they do and when to think about using them.” Instead it’s “We’re going to create this. Search for this function. Great. Now pull up this variable. Good. Yay it works!”

I’ve read through most of the online documentation and it’s just very generic cases. And when I go to code something there’s a whole string of variables I have to plug in that I didn’t even know were there to begin with. No one ever explained these set of variables that existed! So I’ll watch a Youtube video and someone does it like this or that. But…how did they even figure out how that works!!!