Constant issues using animations, characters, different assets/skeletons.

Anyone know a comprehensive learning source for using animations/skeletons and so forth (for the latest build)? I have 3 different skeletons in my project and can’t get anything integrated properly.- it’s a constant battle trying to piece·meal my characters and their animations into one congruent part. The fact of the matter is is that UE’s system is extremely unfriendly to external characters/meshes. I know other artists (non-programmers, novices etc) have the same blood-boiling gripes.

As an artist I feel like the system should have ONE universal humanoid skeleton (let me elaborate). When someone loads a standard humanoid rig/character from the asset store it should automatically assign the existing UE_default skeleton (assuming they skinned to ue_skeleton) and any animations associated with it- it doesn’t do this - animations and skeletons import separately even though they were animated and skinned on the UE_skeleton and so the animations aren’t compatiable with anything until you do some work in the skeleton manager.

If someone is importing a humanoid charcter from mixamo or some other source, it should be a one-step process to match its bones up with the UE_skeleton through the retargeting manager and thus making all animations and anim BP associated with a humanoid skeleton be compatible with this new character. My biggest issue is integrating anim_bps made using different skeletons with the UE_skeleton and viceversa. If I am way off base please help me understand where my knowledge gap needs filling.

Another gripe also is the constant UI updates that prevent me from following along with tutorials.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and assistance.

You could try using Uefy Script and Blender to convert your varied skeleton characters into the default Epic Skeleton of the unreal Mannequin.