Download

Complete Beginner Looking For Advice

Hi all, I am currently a 2nd year programming student(Just finished my first year so I will be starting my second year in September) and have mainly learned C and C++ in my classes. I subscribed to UE4 as I was very intrigued by their Unreal Tournament announcement earlier this month, especially after hearing that UE4 is going completely C++. Of course my end goal in doing this programming program is to eventually go into game/graphics programming. Since it’s my summer off, I thought what better way then to actually apply some of my skills to a personal project so I actually have a firmer understanding of C++ past what my professors tell me.

My questions are this:

• What would be the best way to start off making a small personal game in UE4 as a project for the summer? What should I be aiming for, especially for someone that is still learning C++?
  • Should I focus on making a simple 2D game rather than a 3D one to get started? Seeing the Flappy Chicken showcase intrigued me because before I thought the UE engine was pretty much pigeonholed into being for FPS games
  • What should my expectations be going into UE4 and a game engine for the first time?(UE4 will be my first foray into making a game)
  • What can I expect to gain from making things in UE4, in terms of making games and in terms of further fleshing out my knowledge of C++?
  • Would you recommend I start off 100% using C++ for scripting or using the visual blueprints?
  • Since I’m not a designer, how would I be able to add objects and designs to my game?
  • For someone at my level is retaining the UE4 subscription worth it or is it better to cancel and resub when I learn enough about UE4 and C++?
  • Lastly is there anything to be gained in terms of knowledge/insight through me looking at the source code for UE4? I opened it in VS2013, but noticed that most of the files were C# files and not cpp’s.