Collision, i'm i missing somthing? There must be a better way?

I’m still new to UE4, but have many years working with 3d applications and have had some time with Unity. I’ve been trying to figure out how to set up collisions without needing to rebuild a low polly version over everything. There must be a simple solution for this. I am mostly concerned with interior scenes, like rooms with doorframes, stairs and such.
I’ve search and found very little useful information.
Mostly people building clunky boxed versions and it’s just too much manual work. Unity had a quite a good auto collision method, but was surprised how bad it was here. Doors become impassable and most objects become collideable blobs. I’m I missing something? Are there any good scripts.

In short I’m looking for a good workflow from arch viz moddles from 3ds max without huge amounts of hands on.

There are multiple ways to create collision mesh:

1. Generate simple collisions in StaticMesh Editor window
  2. Use Complex collision(Real mesh data) instead of simple collision
  3. Use custom created collision in 3d software

Here is video that covers 1st and 2nd methods http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLvJnFUk3Cc
And this is for 3rd http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTsAYpqHU-c

Yea I’ve seen them both and none of them really solve my problem very well. Both Simple and complex are not complex enough, making it impossible to walk around and though doorways without getting stuck. And Custom just means hours of extra work, which isn’t an option. I understand that creating super high rez collision meshes automatically would be too demanding, but a few rooms with doorways doesn’t need that high rez. But the system tries the shortest distance instead of following the original mesh when automatically added, blocking all doors, and can’t be raised above 32.