Download

Choosing VR devices for Unreal

Hi friends!, I’m trying to decide between buying Oculus or Vive.

The devices’s quality is not criteria for choosing it for me. I know both are great devices and I just want it to ArchViz works (although I found many articles considering “Vive” is better… I don’t know it).

I really think about the workflow with unreal.
My works run fine in PCs and I allways create materials thinking on this platform, but I would like to know if my way to create materials is the same for VR devices.

For example: Are there any problems with normal maps? I read the normal maps doesn’t work in VR and we have to use parallax mapping.

Can I work in the same way with both devices?, What are the differences or considerations at work time?

I appreciate your opinion.
Thank you.

I am a beginner to Unreal and have been making some very simple tests for Design Visualisation, Archvis, etc using both Oculus DK2 and the Vive.
I was going to upgrade from the DK2 to the Oculus CV1 but got the vive.

I think the vive is a great choice. The roomscale / Chaperone system is so great. For doing Archviz works, i think this gives a lot more opportunities.
Oculus will apparently do “room-scale” with it’s touch controllers, but they appear to be really pushing standing / 180degree experiences.
The steamVR chaperone system is really great.

I find it much easier to address the Vive in simple blueprints too. An advanced user will be able to confirm this, but to my knowledge:
The Vive Headset is measured from its offset from the origin (centre of your play area). Very simple and predictable.
In comparison, The Oculus headset is measured 1 metre away on the X axis from the Oculus’ tracking camera.
You have to enter a height into oculus Home software to set the ‘height’ of the tracking camera from the ground.
I found it much harder to do ‘roomscale/standing’ experiences with the oculus setup.

I too went with the Vive.