Change default character pawn mesh

I’m new to UR4 and only a hobbyist combining my childhood dream of game design with my love for making DnD levels for friends…

My first project is a twin stick shooter. I want to replace the UFO it gives you with the UE4 mannequin.
I see already I will need to modify some of movement blue print to have it face properly but I can’t get the mesh to even change.

I can add it, where it sits on top of the space ship. And I’m pretty sure I have found the place I’d modify it. Place in blue prints where you have the thumb nail of the ship. But when I search for the man it doesn’t show up.
Going into area where it shows the ship with materials and such it has an option to swap meshes in one of the drop downs but it’s greyed out.

I’d appreciate if someone could point me in right direction for this. Would it be more simple to just create a new pawn and copy all the camera blue prints over?

I’m on the same spot as you are, now what I did was to duplicate the BP of the TwinStickPawn and replaced the pawn with what I imported … still suffering the directions issue but I’m still looking, I will hit you once I find a solution.

:eek:
This was a life time ago…

There are several ways to actually get this to work. One of the big issues is the character will return to it’s neutral facing when you release the facing joystick for some reason. There are some tutorials i had found that cleaned it up SOME and i’m sure some complex stuff would fix it but didn’t care enough.

I can’t remember how I ended up replacing the pawn in the first place though it’s been so long. I think i just learned how to set up the controls and replaced them.

Way back when…

Current version of THE SAME PROJECT…

Been recently learning from that weapon system they put on the store and doing what I can with that. Almost done just few broken pieces. Then onto climbing system I have planned…