Download

C++ Permutations / Shuffling Player Input

Merry Christmas everyone,

I’m fairly new to the UnrealEngine and C++ programming, still the community has helped me like a dozen times already. I feel like it is time to give something back!

The last couple days I’ve been working on a party game and I thought it would be fun to have some funky powerups. So I came up with an item which modifies the player’s input. Basically my players have actions which they can perform by pressing one out of four buttons. Now when this item is used, all players (except the one who used it) have got their buttons shuffeld for a specific amount of time. Well physically they are still the same but each button does now trigger a different action (different to his previous action). So for the first time pressing a button after the use of the item you can’t be sure what will happen. Of course you know, you will trigger one out of your four abilites but you don’t know which. You will eventually figure out which button calls which action but by the time it takes to get used to it, the controls already changed back to normal.

Let me explain this with an small example:

For example could you use this feature to make one of your players gain advantage by still beeing able to use his buttons normally, whilst everyone else has to struggle with his control for 15 seconds.

7330d8b3a5.png

One more thing before we get started. I’m pretty sure there are certainly better ways to programm this. If you wish to, you can point out flaws and improvements in this thread, I would appreciate it. Really.
So let’s get started.

[HR][/HR]
As I looked for a way to shuffle the button presses I remembered my math courses and one word came to my mind: Permutations. So let’s have a look at it and recapulate what this actually was by using a simple example.