Beginner questions, should i stick with it or search for someone?

Hello! First of all I’m sorry if I posted this in the wrong place.

So the story is that me and my friend want to make games but we don’t have any experience in coding before. I’m a fresh graduate audio engineer right now studying abroad in Japan and he’s an animation student. It’s a pretty standard story xD and then I decided that maybe I could try to learn the coding or blueprints.

Completed almost all of Unreal’s YT channel’s massive tutorials, but in the end I guess I just don’t get the enjoyments behind codings. I found myself enjoying writing things (And yes I’m the type that play games for the story regardless of the gameplay xD), and game designing in-between doing the tutorials though!

So here’s my question to the veterans here, should I just stick with it? Even when I don’t enjoy it. Or should I search for a coder? Which was a recommended option by an app-developer friend.

Thank you and cheers!:slight_smile:

While I might not be a veteran, my advice would be to find another person to do the coding. If you don’t enjoy it then you won’t be as motivated to do it. I personally love programming and coding, I really enjoy it. Sometimes I will just start coding for fun, not even making anything substantial. On the other hand I am capable at 3D modelling, 3D animation, and texturing. However I don’t really enjoy these. Yes sometimes I will have fun doing them but most of the time I would rather be programming.

So I would recommend that you find somebody else if you don’t enjoy it. Stick to what you love and let somebody else do what they love.

Hi all

welcome Zglar

I’m new myself but I have learned some come programming Don’t like it like I thought I would.
Right now I’m a one Man team I can’t do it all And get my game out in a reasonable time. (100 years if I had to do all the coding) Love blueprints tho great help.) I’ll do what I can, for the little stuff but in the end