Animation question when using free .FBX file. (YES I AM A NEWBIE)

First and foremost, Only been messing with UE4 about 3 days now. Watched a guy on youtube named Virtus Education, watched all 33 of his tutorials and got a nice basic understanding of UE4.

I used a website to download a free PBX character file. It came with .fbx file, .obj file and a bunch of JPGs for materials.

I started a new 3rd person project in UE4 and replaced the default mannequin with the .pbx file I downloaded. When I press play she just slides around on her feet.

Is there anyway I can get the 3rd person animations that came with UE4 to work with her? Been trying to find out how to add animations on youtube but can’t find a proper video.

Appreciate the help!

you’d likely want to look into animation retargeting…that should set you in the correct direction…

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/Animation/RetargetingDifferentSkeletons/index.html

Appreciate it!

Update, I followed that link exactly but my char still just slides around on it’s feet. So apparently I done something wrong.

When you have dont the upper steps (so you have some animations assigned to your skeletal mesh) you will have to add everything into an anim bp and blendspace + choose the right anim bp in the character bp: null - YouTube :slight_smile:

Ah, i got you. Appreciate the help. I’ll mess with it tonight when I get off work and see how it turns out. I spent my entire afternoon yesterday trying to figure out why I couldn’t make my char run. All I was doing was just changing the default 3rd person mannequin to one of the free .fbx files I downloaded.

Starting to see now why they still charge $60 for new games that you can beat in 4 hours. All this work that takes so long just to get 1 char to move. But I’m sure once I do it enough and learn, it won’t take that long to throw in a skeletal mesh and have it running in no time.