Animating on top of or on a sprite

Hey guys,

I’m fairly new to game development in general so this may not necessarily be a specific ue4 question. I’m really looking for best practice and ideas from you guys for the problem I’m facing.

Let’s say I have created a sprite of a beaker on a hot plate. Now imagine I want to animate the beaker so that it is getting hot. What I mean by that is I want a slow red gradient that starts at the bottom of the beaker and gradually climbs up the glass.

Approach 1:
The simple solution I have is that I just draw the beaker getting more and more red in my drawing program and then create a flipbook of all the sprites. However, that will of course take a lot of memory as I’m having to create a bunch of textures. I was wondering if there was a way I could sort of “decouple” the gradient and the beaker into two separate entities.

Approach 2:
What I also could do in my drawing program is draw the gradient in a separate layer of my beaker, export only those frames of the gradient, create a flipbook of those sprites, attach it as a socket on the beaker, and have the gradient flipbook play. However, again I’m not sure if that necessarily fixes anything because from what I understand, a 512x512 texture is still at the end of the day a 512x512 texture. The compression doesn’t care if it’s a beaker with the gradient drawn on it or just the gradient itself. It will still compress down to the same size. Please correct me if I’m wrong on that.

Approach 3:
I also tried to explore the possibility of somehow adjusting a sprite’s material to produce a gradient over it. See: Gradient | Unreal Engine Documentation