about poly's in UE4

hey guys

I’m kinda new to the game design world and i really wanna learn some cool stuff about it and make some awesome game but i have one question.

how much poly’s should a full game have because everywhere i turn people are talking about if your game or character have to much poly’s your game will not
have the best look or run smooth.so what about a game like cod2, arma3, gta5, they look pretty to me and how they get them to look so dam good if they have to worried about polygon and can i create a map like battlefield 4 in ue4 thanks for all the tips and help

Poly Count -> always depends on the game, the map size and style. I would recommend you to take a look at some character modelling tutorials for game development -> normally you create a high poly mesh - bake the normal map,… - simplify the mesh
I always try to stay as low as possible :slight_smile:

Yes, you can make every kind of map in the UE4 :wink: (even with destruction -> ?v=bqyn1IjrbIY

A full game can have as many polygons as you want really, the limitation does not apply in the sense of total poly’s per game. What you need to be concerned with is the number of poly’s being drawn on screen at any time during the game.

For characters the recommendation for the last gen titles was to keep them below 30k tri’s, is still a good recommendation, but you can go higher than if required.

To keep the poly count down make sure you are baking as much information onto the low poly mesh as possible, using normal maps created based on your high poly mesh to fill in the smaller details, allowing you to use less poly’s for (almost) the same result. A lot of fine detail can be added through through the material, it is not always necessary to sculpt it onto the mesh.

Basically for all meshes you create try and reduce the poly count as far as possible while still retaining the detail you need. Use LOD’s and normal maps wherever possible to add in extra detail as it is required.